Writing Zazen

Monday, 18 December 2006

A Habit

Filed under: Daily Practice — Silent Warrior @ 7:33 pm

“We are what we repeatedly do,” Aristotle said. “Excellence … is not an act, but a habit.”

I have no plans for New Years eve this year. Well, no social plans. My mother used to always say that what ever you do as the new year rings in, you’ll be doing through out the year. I’ve always made it a point not to be crying. Wouldn’t mind starting out the New Year having sex…

But seriously, over the years, I’ve tried to end my old year and start my new year writing. I don’t know if my mother’s little superstition is true or not but if it is I’d like to end/start it off on the write foot. I’ve tried the New Year’s eve parties that never quite live up to the hype and the expenditure. I’ve tried the clubs and the dinners and the crappy ‘free’ glass of champagne that is worse than drinking baby duck or gasoline.

I also like to write up a letter from my new self in a year from now discussing how I spent the new year. Something like, Dear Silent Warrior, what a great year 2007 has been. I completed my novel, fell in love… and in it include all the goals I’d like to realize. All that I want to be, do and have.

But my main thing is to do some creative writing. Hit that zone, that flow where I lose track of time and am transported on to the clouds of inspiration. I’m engulfed into the Super consciousness where we all have the ability to tap into the ideas and create.

What are you going to do to ring in the New Year?

Hmm, sex and body painting… Body painting’s a form of writing! ha ha

SW

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

