Writing Zazen

Sunday, 3 December 2006

First Writing Class

Filed under: Daily Practice,I Remember — Silent Warrior @ 5:26 pm

A warm up mentioned in The Weekend Novelist by Robert J Ray is to write for ten minutes using the start line, “I remember…”

I remember when I took my first writing class in the 1980’s that Michael Zizis wrote on the board, Write to Disturb.
I remember that I found a good rhythm and was able to write a short story a week. I’d come up with the story idea that I wanted to write about. Name a character and think about her as much as possible. I’d think about what she wanted, the predicament she was in, how she could possibly get out of it. I’d think about it until I’d feel almost a silent click in my head that told me, that’s it! Then I’d sit down and write it from beginning to end. No stopping until the story was complete. Once the story was complete, I’d go back and revise it.
It’s so much easier to revise something after it’s been written rather than revising as it’s written, for me anyway.

SW

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

